Let’s Link!

By Casey Wilson

  • The Atlantic has a really great piece up right now that asks the question “What Does ‘Young Adult’ Mean?” that you should definitely read. “Young adult” is, as Jen Doll rightly points out, a rather complicated category to sum up in one go, but she does a nice job of working through many of the important signposts in the development of the term. I will likely assign this one to my students when I teach “Writing About the Young Adult Bestseller” in the fall. (Shameless plug!) Plus, it demonstrates that I’m not the only pedant about what is and isn’t YA lit.
  • News has recently broken that Charlie Kaufman, of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Adaptation fame, will be writing the screenplay for The Knife of Never Letting Go, based on the novel by Patrick Ness. Knife is a brilliant novel, with a very distinct point of view. And as Rebekah will tell you, it does a lot of interesting things with the text on the page. I think a writer like Kaufman will be well suited to bringing all that to the big screen.
  • Perhaps because I’ve been in a great class on Videogame Theory and Analysis all semester, I found these illustrations of video games as children’s books to be pretty darn cute. I’ve also found game studies and children’s lit to have quite a lot in common across the semester, but that’s a post for another day.

Casey is a PhD student who promises the blog will be more than links again very soon.

Categories: In the Media

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Let’s Link!

  1. Rebekah.

    The link to the illustrations of video games as children’s books is broken. Which is devastating, because I really wanted to see them!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.