May the odds be ever in your favor…

By Casey Wilson

I’ve been excited about The Hunger Games film ever since it was announced. I love the book trilogy intensely, and although I’ve had my share of apprehension about the adaptation, I’ve been hoping that they would get it right.

And if this trailer is anything to go by, they’re on the right track.

March 23 cannot come soon enough!Let me begin with a caveat: I don’t picture things in my head as I read. I never have. I’ve read the trilogy twice, and I still couldn’t give you a good description of what the characters are supposed to look like. That’s always granted me a bit of freedom when it comes to film adaptations, because I don’t live in fear of having the images in my head replaced by those from the movie.

I’m glad of that, because I want the images from this trailer to be in my mind when I think about the book. The trailer is visually stunning, contrasting the sleekness of the Capitol with the lush forest outside District 12 and the gray of the reaping scene, the bleakness punctuated only by the shocking, nearly grotesque pink of Effie Trinket.

Rule breaker!So beautiful! So corrupt!Bless you, Effie.I also loved getting to see a snipped of Katniss and Peeta’s pre-Games conversation, a small, quiet moment that I worried might get overwhelmed in the flash and action of the Games themselves.

Kiss already!I’m pleased, too, to see Seneca Crane getting distinguished as a more significant character early on; that’s only partially due to the totally awesome beard he’s been given.

I think he owes royalties to Starburns.It’s worth noting that the trailer is placing the emphasis squarely on the action of the Games and on planting the seeds of rebellion; there’s little romance to be seen. I wonder if there isn’t a hint of Twilight fatigue in that choice, or if they’ll start to play up that angle as the release date gets closer.

But at the end? Watching Cinna offer Katniss a comforting nod as she ascends the tube to begin the Games? Followed by the countdown? I get goosebumps every time. Outside of the tiny portion of my heart devoted to shipperdom (Team Peeta all the way!) my favorite relationship in the series is between Katniss and her stylist, and I cannot wait to see what Lenny Kravitz does with Cinna.

So it beginsAnyone flash forward to another scene in this moment?It’s too soon to know for sure if the movie will be good, of course. Good trailers do not always make for good films. But for me, at least, this is a pretty good place to start.

Casey Wilson is a PhD student who has indoctrinated many, many people into the cult of The Hunger Games. Join us! Violence and revolution abound!

Categories: In the Media

Post navigation

One thought on “May the odds be ever in your favor…

  1. Rebekah

    Ok, I have watched this trailer at least once a day since it came out and my heart still speeds up for the count down at the end. At the very least, the trailer is really really well put together and edited. Let’s hope the actual film is able to establish and maintain the same kind of balance and suspense!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.